2014 in review…

Zeus has been with us for almost a year now… and having got through Christmas without blubbing because our beloved Thor wasn’t around, we remember him fondly and I still catch myself calling the pupster ‘Thor’, especially when he’s under my feet!

I’m looking forward to 2015. 2014 ended up being a good year for us as a family: DD found herself in a new relationship which developed rapidly and resulted in her leaving the nest and setting up home with her new man – both are hard-working young people and look to become a very successful and loving couple, with a great future ahead of them.

Nick’s battle with skin cancer continues, although it’s become active again in his nose and I foresee hospital visits again next year, but on the whole we are both 100% healthier than we were last winter. We’re eating well and sensibly (well I do love to cook!!), regularly taking multi-vitamins and we had flu jabs this year too. I discovered the Nutribullet this year and decided that if I couldn’t win one (did I mention I’m an avid comper?), then we’d treat ourselves to one for Christmas. And we did… We’ve been having our “Nutriblast” every morning at about 11-ish and feel better and more energised for it even though it’s only been a couple of weeks. My main aim is to boost our immune systems and get as much cancer-fighting material into Nick as possible, without setting off his IBS, poor man!

As far as our two rescue dogs are concerned, they are now inseparable. They play and squabble and sleep together, just like siblings and take it in turns to be the “dominant” one for the day, hour, whatever… Zeus is only crated when we go out, or Nick takes me/picks me up from work, or if he’s in real need of a “Time Out”!

I’ve stopped baking treats/biscuits for them more than once a week because the last thing they need is to become overweight. Seriously, I still spoil them, but they get a filled Kong each once a day* which is very good for them, probably way better than so many treats – even if they’re home made!

Filled Kongs: Chopped apple and cream cheese, banana and peanut butter, frozen stock and cold meat (a bit like a lolly!!). I also bake a sweet potato for them when I use the oven and that lasts them 3 days added to their food bowl.

I don’t really make “resolutions” as such, but my intention is to blog more, post more photos and shoot more video of our fur-babies, so do pop in and see what we’ve been up to, won’t you? Now I’m off to shower and change before DD and her BF come over to spend a few hours with us this evening. We’ll be devouring some lovely Party Food from the Tesco *finest range which I got to try out for less through the Tesco Orchard Programme… They give me vouchers to spend on new products and I review them and share on Social Media – good for us, good for them too! #Triedforless

#Triedforless

#Triedforless

Will share pics and my thoughts next time… Happy New Year! 🙂

Categories: Family | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

